Tuesday Evening Ride

My horse carries me

Surging, pulsing

Through the sand wash,

Through the sagebrush,

Leaping, powering

Embodying pure joy.

~~~

Setting sun blinds me

But my faithful horse

Carries me, melds with me –

He, my eyes,

He, my legs,

He, my will.

~~~

I drop my seat

Deep into my saddle,

Trusting my horse

To protect me,

To keep me,

To carry me as he always has,

~~~

Into realms of wilderness

And wonder,

Of daylight and moonlight –

Making magical memories

Of a simple Tuesday

Evening ride.

~~~

Mustang Mirror -- Cropped

Copyright 2013

5 Comments

January 3, 2013 · 6:27 am

5 responses to “Tuesday Evening Ride

Leave a Reply

