Aria, My Pegasus

Aria is not a horse. Aria is a Pegasus.

She flies and floats along the path,

With rhythmic movement,

Seeing – not just as a horse sees,

Reacting – not just as a horse reacts.

~~~

She processes the freshness of Nature,

Of riding trails she’s never seen before –

With an elegant grace beyond,

Certainly, her tender, ‘green’ years.

(she’s just turning 6)

Beyond even a mere horse – as splendid as horses are;

Into the realm of Fantasy. My Fantasy.

~~~

That my Pegasus Horse will sniff

The wind and carry me to Magical Places.

Always willing, always forward,

Lifting both my earthly weight, and hers,

Freely. Effortlessly. Without hesitation.

And lifting my SOUL and heart and

Passion for Life in the process!

~~~

Aria restores my faith in God, in Life’s

Bigger Picture – that all things certainly do

Work together for good – even her

Broken knee at 4-months of age

(the Vets wanted to euthanize)

Which by prayer and herbs,

Love and fate, healed and

Meshed to 100% perfection!

Beyond coincidence. Beyond chance.

~~~

God knew His plans for her, for us

For Aria, the Granddaughter of Fanta,

Niece of Starboy, Daughter of Faramir,

Daughter of Fae, Sister of Laddie,

Mother of Hokuleia, heir-apparent

Of all that is good from that now-famous line –

Arabian/Appaloosa/Shire/Thoroughbred/Running Quarter

– Bloodlines that look and flow like a Morgan,

Gaited, I swear, her running-trot

So smooth and fluid, my head never bobs,

Speeding so fast, the others

Must canter to keep pace.

~~~

And now this: Aria, My Pegasus.

My 3rd-Generation Mare,

Each one improving those before,

Actualizing my Childhood Dreams,

Fulfilling my Horsey Whimsy.

Satisfying every ounce of my Soul!

~~~

Frilly Horse

Copyright 2013

2 Comments

July 24, 2013 · 12:38 am

2 responses to “Aria, My Pegasus

  1. Beautiful words, and brings up beautiful memories. The Pendleton Round-Up is coming mid September, and it brings me back to my country roots. While I do not consider myself a horseman by any means, there is not a better feeling than being in rhythm with a running horse. “So smooth and fluid, my head never bobs”

Leave a Reply

