“I’m Always Riding Rebel . . .”

This was my mantra.

My own special way to cope.

(Nowadays we’d call it my Mental Health strategy!)

Rebel, my first beloved horse, acquired at the ripe emotional age of 13, saw me through seven volatile teenage and young-adult years.

~~~~

“I’m always riding Rebel,” I’d say inside my mind. Over and over again . . .

“I’m not here at school, No! Not at Emerson Junior High School, eating lunch by myself again . . . Not at University High School, walking between classes . . .”

“Yes! I’m riding Rebel . . . out into the trails, right now! I see his flowing mane. I feel the reins in my hand. I feel the swing of his gait. I hear the squeak of my saddle. I smell the musky chaparral . . .”   DawnHoof

This was my teenage time-travel-strategy extraordinaire.

And it always worked!

The more I saw myself, felt myself, imagined myself as if actually riding Rebel, rather than where I’d rather not be — the time would come when I would be back riding Rebel again . . . feeling, seeing, swinging, hearing hoofbeats and all the sights and smells that accompany a horseback ride . . .

“It’s true! I’m always riding Rebel,” I’d repeat to myself, once back in the saddle, in amazement that my ruse worked!

Laddie Light Seymour Canyon

~~~~

So following my recent self-advice and hopping onto Fae to ride again tonight (see my Post, Treasure of my Heart), adventuring this time into the woods and up an old trail haunt — walking, trotting, flowing canter — I heard myself saying my old mantra again, “I’m always riding Rebel!”

But this time, riding my big draft-cross mare, Fae!

So what if I were to apply my old strategy, tried and true, from the tool box of my far-distant past, and put it to work, once again?

“I’m always riding Fae!”

“Not driving this car on the freeways outside of L.A. Not doing the dishes, the laundry . . .”

“Yes! I’m riding Fae, out into the trails . . . I feel the sway of her back, the warmth and snug fit of my saddle. I smell the sagebrush. I hear the wind in the pines . . .”

“I’m riding Fae again, right now!” 

Let’s try this strategy once more, Dawn, and see how it does!

It worked in my childhood to deliver me from places or tasks I’d rather not be.

Let’s see how it goes, now!

Veiled

~~~~
Copyright 2023, Dawn Jenkins
Photos: Dawn Jenkins 
~~~~
 

Aria Mane Swirl

Join Dawn for a Soul Horse Ride! (Oh yes, in Australian Saddles.)  Experience the thrill of becoming one with your horse. Join Dawn and her homegrown herd for a Soul Horse Ride in the Frazier Park Outback!

Call to book your Life-Changing Adventure today:  (661) 703-6283

~~~~

Ella at Fuji's

 

Please also visit my Life Blog, Journal of Dawn,
for Strategies and Insights into the
Journey of Life

~~~~

8 Comments

December 10, 2023 · 9:41 pm

8 responses to ““I’m Always Riding Rebel . . .”

  1. Array

    Dawn this is such a beautiful piece of Writing describing your yearning for freedom in the saddle again. I love reading your words of wisdom and feel so grateful to have met you so many Moons ago at PMC Stables. Thank you for you and Rebel ❤

    • Awesome, Graham, thank you! I was in Malibu the other day and stopped by to see Colin Dangaard, famous Australian Saddlemaker, whom I have to thank for my comfy, awesome Australian saddles. “We’re the last generation of the old-salt horsemen,” he quipped. I count you in that generation, Graham. Let’s meet up for a horse visit with my herd, when we can! Dawn (245-2182 – give a call)

        • Great to speak with both you and Beverly tonight, Graham. Thank you for your encouraging words. Writing may be a fading art-form in our culture today, yet, “If the Creeks Don’t Rise”, we’ll keep it alive! (Encouraging you to write, too!) Dawn

          • eineachain

            Thank you so much Dawn. Beverly so enjoyed talking with you, especially the poem you read to her of your 13th birthday ❤. Could you please share this poignant poem with us?

            “We’re the last generation of the old-salt horsemen,” quipped Colin Dangaard the Australian saddle maker…
            Yes, and you Dawn are the salt of the earth, a rare jewel among Lady Farriers. And a great teacher who is so gracious in sharing her knowledge. ❤

  2. Joan Freeman

    Beautiful Dawn! I’ll change the mantra a bit …. Im always riding Ruby!

    Thanks! 🙏🏻

    Joan Freeman

Leave a comment