My Body is a Workhorse

My body awaits the day

Like a workhorse.

Like a racehorse.

It knows that soon

It shall be put to task.

~~~

How has society changed enough for a woman to seek out and learn to shoe horses?

What has happened to the “weaker sex”?

When I first began trimming my own barefoot horses’ hooves, twentysomething years ago – in my 30’s – it challenged me.

And I arose to the task.

It took two years of fumbling – with the tools, the skills, the posturing – to become even somewhat comfortable.

Hawaiian Hoof Trim

Six years later, when I got Max (with his old heel injury – requiring shoes) and hauled him to Chatsworth for my farrier-uncle to fix, I sized up the situation: I had to learn.

Not just to trim.

But to shoe.

For Max – in order for Max to stay sound.

That meant learning how to: Nail, shape, clinch, pull – an extremely challenging, physical skill set! Done all the while, bending over-down-up-down . . .  Underneath, and HOLDING UP the horse!

(In the beginning it hurt so bad, I couldn’t walk for three days.)

I remember thinking: “I wish it were a year from now!”

For I knew that I’d be much better at all this after a year.

Santi Hoof

Now, nearly two decades later, I am indeed much better.

I still maintain my own horses’ hooves.

I’ve also established a Hoofcare and Farrier practice, trimming and shoeing and keeping many other horses sound.

But, I’m older now.

And age has a way of eating away at you. As it should, slowing you down a little bit.

Good 'ol Chap

~~~

. . . The working parts on the car wear out first: Belts, bearings, transmission, alternator.

In humans: Shoulders, knees, neck, wrist, thumbs. (Feet, too!)

And her perspective at fiftysomething is far different from her thirtysomething past.

She works slower, happier. Eats better, rests more. She works smarter.

(Lighter, brighter, less pain now, Gluten-Free : ~ )

The years tick on – and still she does the work.

The commitments loom greater with age.

And the gargantuan effort she throws into the task

Appears easy to those who look on . . .

DawnHoof

~~~

My body is a workhorse.

And I work with horses.

And the horses are the

Leisurely in this generation,

And we humans are the

Workhorses now.

Strange!    DawnHoof

Dawn and Fable

Strategies I’ve adapted to keep myself fit:

  • Supplements, herbs, vitamins, minerals, electrolytes . . .
  • HYDRATION! Drinking ample water
  • Eating moisture-containing foods (an apple a day; a salad over a sandwich)
  • Daily routine of pushups, ab-body rollouts,
  • Light weights and stretching
  • Deep breathing . . .
  • Positive thinking, self-talk, and affirmations :))
  • Speeding myself up when my energy drags
  • Riding my Life like I would ride my horse!
  • Writing in my Journal
  • Gratitude and Prayer

2024 note: The good news — this all seems to work! :)) I’m now 70 and still doing the work :)))))

For more thoughts on using our bodies to work, see my post: Watching the Woman Work.

~~~~

Copyright 2013, 2024
Photographs: Dawn Jenkins

~~~~

View of Little Dume Beach

Please also visit my Life Blog, Journal of Dawn ,

for Strategies and Insights into the

Journey of Life

~~~~

5 Comments

August 31, 2013 · 8:12 pm

5 responses to “My Body is a Workhorse

  1. Love your passion. Great writing.

  2. Absolutely wonderful! I love seeing how many female farriers have entered the business. My longest time friend of 20+ years has a thriving farrier business in NY and is growing her business in SC. She is double certified, has been on panels for the National Convention, and has been one of the official farriers at top level events (Kentucky 5*). I’m so proud of her and the other strong women!

  3. Ashley Gasky from precision hoofcare

Leave a comment